Posted on Leave a comment

How to delete Skype account

In today’s article, you will find out to quickly delete your Skype account.

Skype in recent years got a few competitors (Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft own Teams) and quite a few people moved to other services. Some of them do not want to leave a digital print behind and want to delete all the data and close Skype account down completely.

But it is not a very straightforward process since Skype merged with Microsoft account and it looks like there is no other way than deleting both accounts together. This is relatively easy but you need to be careful if you use some other Microsoft services.

Deleting Skype account

Of course, it is possible to go directly to Microsoft website, log in and close the account down (click this link and follow the instructions), but it is easier to do it directly from a Skype application.

Below I will show you how to delete Skype account on my Android mobile but the procedure is very similar. As you will see in a moment, you just need to go to your profile (by clicking on your profile avatar), then Settings and then Account and profile and finally Close my account.

Here are detailed instruction with Screenshots.

1. Open your Skype app and log in.

After I logged on, I could see my account and latest call history (screenshot below). To go deeper to my account I tap on my avatar.

Skype Android screenshot

2. Go to Settings

This is the second screen you will see. Please tap Setting at the bottom of the screen.

Skype Android screenshot 2

Select Account & Profile

3. The next screen will be presented. This time we need to select the first option from the top Account & Profile

Skype Android screenshot 3

Select Close your account

4. We are almost there. On the next page, you will find a few options allowing you to tweak your account. But we want to delete the Skype account completely, therefore, we need to select Close your account / Delete your Microsoft account at the bottom of the screen.

Skype Android screenshot 4

Log into Microsoft account and confirm

5. Now you will have to, unfortunately, log on Microsoft account and confirm the last step. I will not do so, because the truth is I do not want to delete my Skype account 🙂 But of course, you do, so please go ahead and confirm it in the last step.

Skype Android screenshot 5

As a precaution and just in case you change your mind, Microsoft will keep all the data for 60 days and during this period you can log into your account/or Skype and revoke the cancellation. After 60 days all data will be deleted and you won’t be able to log in again.

That is all this time. I hope you have learned how to delete your Skype account. If you have any problems or something is not clear, please feel free to post a comment below. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *