In today’s tutorial I will show you how to quickly and completely delete Instagram account.
It looks like Instagram is trying to obstruct this process a little and many users are looking for the information how to delete their accounts. So I have decided to help them out and write a short tutorial about it. If you follow along, you will be able to delete your account in no time.
Disabling is not deleting 🙁
Normally on many other websites you would find a link or button ‘Edit your account’ or something similar, click it and look for account cancellation option. Not with Instagram. If you go this route and edit your account you will see this:
There is a link but it says ‘Temporarily disable your account’. Upon a closer inspection, when you click it, you fill more information:
You can disable your account instead of deleting it. This means your account will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in. When you press the button below, your photos, comments and likes will be hidden until you reactivate your account by logging back in.
I appreciate that this option exists and there certainly people that use it, however, it would also be nice to have second link somewhere saying ‘Delete my account completely’. It is nowhere to be seen, so we need to dig a bit dipper. I have read some information on Instagram Help pages and found the option how to delete the account. This what you should do.
How to delete Instagram account in 3 easy steps:
#1 Visit Delete your account page
Click on this link and open relevant page: Permanently remove the account. If you are not logged in, please do. Once you are logged in, you should be presented with this page (of course your user name will be different):
#2 Let Instagram know why you are deleting the account
Choose from the drop down menu reason why you want to delete your Instagram account. Once you have chosen, you should see the next screen.
#3 Re-type your password and confirm
All you have to do now is to type your password again (‘To continue, please re-enter your password’ box) and click on the red button ‘Permanently delete my account’. Please be aware that if you click the button you will completely delete all your Instagram pictures, comments and other data. If you are not sure and do not want to delete everything, perhaps you should temporarily disable your account instead 🙂
If you go for it though, you should see this and you won’t be able to log in again.
But what will you do now with all this free time? Just kidding 🙂
I hope you have fond it useful and now know how to delete your Instagram account. Please let me know in the comments below if you have any questions.